The Why Me Question!

I was watching my current Netflix binge, Girlfriends Guide to Divorce the other day.  This show is my life, less all the money, and daily friends contact, hot doctors, and the heels. (who works in a bakery in 5 inch heels) Ok, so not really my life, but I relate to the emotions that the characters on the show go through.

Now I tend to watch shows while doing many other things. (Most moms do, that’s how we get stuff done) I am watching the show and two different times, with two couples, one asks the other, WHY ME? The second time I heard it, I stopped everything else that I was doing and I started paying attention.  And when I heard her ask him why he wanted to be with her, it made me take a sharp breath in. I, like her cannot seem to accept that someone would want me just because I am me. My sarcasm would say that I am freaking awesome why wouldn’t they want me, but reality is I don’t know why they would. (They must have an ulterior motive, and I must know what it is) Why do we feel this way about ourselves, why can’t we just believe that we are worthy?  Is this something we acquire post-divorce, when we feel like we’ve been discarded? Do most people have this bit of self-doubt, or does a life event trigger it?

I’m no therapist or have a degree in anything that is involved in the dealings of the mind and what causes us to feel this way about ourselves. But I do know when I was watching the show, and she asked why her, it made my heart break for her. I wanted to stand up and fight for her. Why not you; you are smart, funny, beautiful, have a great job? Girl you are crazy he wants you because you are amazing. (Literally yelling at this point) While I am mid yell, I was blindsided with the realization that I need to have that same kind of fight for myself. (I am those things too)

Somewhere along the way in this life we lose the fight for ourselves and instead spend the energy fighting for our family, friends, and other people we care about. Well it’s time that we start caring and fighting for ourselves. If we think it and feel it for them, we need to think it and do it for ourselves.

If it were a man telling me that I couldn’t do something I would be like, why the hell not! But shrink at the thought that someone could love me just for me.

I know this is not a new revelation to the world, this topic has been covered a billion times before, but this time it hit home.

We all deserve to know that it’s you (it’s me), because you have touched someone somehow, and even though you may not see it in yourself, they do.

I’m challenging myself and you, to just shut up that WHY ME voice, and accept that it’s us because we are freaking awesome!!!

3 thoughts on “The Why Me Question!

Leave a Reply

